Ajax loader
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies as described in Cookie Policy.
Tate Britain
Tate Britain

Tate Britain (formerly known as the National Gallery of British Art, not to be confused with the National Gallery, which still exists) is one of a family of four Tate galleries, which display selections from Tate Collection. The other three galleries are Tate Modern, also in London, Tate Liverpool and Tate St Ives. Tate Britain is located on the site of a former prison at Millbank.
The façade of the building was designed by Sidney R. J. Smith, with a classical portico and a dome behind. Construction began in 1893 and the gallery opened on 21 July 1897 as the National Gallery of British Art. There have been several extensions over the years. The central sculpture gallery was designed by John Russell Pope.
The works of art displayed at Tate Britain allow visitors to trace the entire history of British art, from the Tudor Period (in the 16th century) to the present day.
Tate Britain also aims to promote British art internationally.
Turner Joseph Mallord William (1775-1851)
Royaume-Uni, Londres, Tate Collection
Le thé au jardin
Le thé au jardin
1 documents
of 1
Items per page
Active Lightbox:
Open Lightboxes