Ajax loader
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies as described in Cookie Policy.
Jean de La Fontaine’s Fables
Jean de La Fontaine’s Fables

The Fables of La Fontaine comprise three collections of allegorical texts published from 1668 to 1694, totalling 243 texts and the same number of morals. The use of animals in many of his verses enabled La Fontaine to employ a freedom of tone and style which has ensured his popularity though the centuries. The first version was illustrated by François Chauveau and intended for Louis de France, then still a child. Many other illustrators and artists would later illustrate these moralistic and pedagogical themes: Gustave Doré, Jean-Jacques Grandville, Jean-Baptiste Oudry, Benjamin Rabier, Marc Chagall...

Roqueplan Camille (1803-1855)
Royaume-Uni, Londres, Wallace Collection
of 1
Items per page
Active Lightbox:
Open Lightboxes